Norma Jean=STRENGTH

July 9, 1938 through August 7, 2010

So many thoughts and memories flood my brain when I hear your name. So many wonderful times in my life I owe to you. You would be 75 today.. Still to this day, every time I want to know what to fry something in, or how long to bake something, or which way do I make this seam… You are still the first person I want to call. I miss you soo much! I can’t believe it’s been almost 3 years since I’ve even talked to you. Mammaw, you were a HUGE part of my life, and I thank God for that every day.

You helped mold me into the person I am today. And without you I have no idea where I would be. Your creative influence was strong too, teaching me how to crochet and sew at a young age. I thank you for that, both skills I am still capable of today. Between you and my mom, I turned out to be an AWESOME cook! Not to mention my killer ability to make a great meal out of what’s left in the fridge at the end of the month. lol!

But one thing I am most proud of, is your ability to “Do Things Your Way”. I’m so incredibly thankful that you were the way you were. This STRENGTH that you possessed was passed down to me as well. The STRENGTH to pick myself up when I fall down. The STRENGTH to keep going when I can’t take another step. The STRENGTH to always be looking out for the ones I love when I can’t even look out for myself. I think of all you went through in your life, how hard it was, how poverty stricken it was, how many kids you had… And I hope and pray that one day I will be as strong, determined, loving and crazy as you once were.

I love you mammaw. Higher than the sky. Deeper than the ocean. Forever and ever.

20130710-035522.jpg

Treasured in my heart you’ll stay until we meet again someday.

20130710-043028.jpg

20130710-043036.jpg

20130710-043042.jpg

20130710-043047.jpg

20130710-043054.jpg

20130710-043059.jpg

20130710-043107.jpg

What did you think about it?

